If a user is deleted, his profile will be also deleted. But likes from him stay in the posts with a link to a profile that does not exist. You and Google get a 404 error. That is bad for seo and also wrong from the code. The 404 (Not Found) say: The requested resource could not be found but may be available again in the future. Subsequent requests by the client are permissible. The 410 (Gone) say: Indicates that the resource requested is no longer available and will not be available again. This should be used when a resource has been intentionally removed and the resource should be purged. I should prefer that the profile retained when delete, as well as all other data from the user. But if that is not possible, a 410 code should be sent and not a 404.