1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XF 1.4 Double Gender Fields in Registration

Discussion in 'XenForo Questions and Support' started by clove28, Sep 19, 2014.

1. clove28

clove28 Active Member

There are 2 gender fields in my registration form. I don't know why but how can I remove the other one? Please see the image..

2 gender.JPG

2. Mike

Mike XenForo Developer Staff Member

The latter one of those looks like a custom field. You'd have to remove that or edit the register_form template to hide the default one.

3. clove28

clove28 Active Member

Which part in the register_form should I edit? I'm not a coder so I find this a difficult one..:D

4. Brogan

Brogan XenForo Moderator Staff Member

The bit related to the gender.

HTML:
        <dl class="ctrlUnit">
            <dt>{xen:phrase gender}:</dt>
            <dd>
                <ul>
                    <li><label><input type="radio" name="{$fieldMap.gender}" value="male" {xen:checked "{$fields.gender} == 'male'"} /> {xen:phrase male}</label></li>
                    <li><label><input type="radio" name="{$fieldMap.gender}" value="female" {xen:checked "{$fields.gender} == 'female'"} /> {xen:phrase female}</label></li>
                    <li><label><input type="radio" name="{$fieldMap.gender}" value="" {xen:checked "!{$fields.gender}"} /> ({xen:phrase unspecified})</label></li>
                </ul>
            </dd>
        </dl>
    Remove that.

5. clove28

clove28 Active Member

Thanks Mike & Brogan! :)

6. AndyB

AndyB Well-Known Member

7. Chris D

Chris D XenForo Developer Staff Member

I actually suggest not using an add-on for this.

The default gender field only appears in three locations in the front end of XF.

It appears in the back end, too, but removing those is superfluous if it cannot be manipulated in the front end.

Tracy Perry likes this.
  8. clove28

clove28 Active Member