What I think about XenForo

xenTheory

I've tried most forum platforms such as phpBB, vBulletin, IPB and MyBB. They all have strong and weak points. I recently moved a small forum of mine over to XF from phpBB. It's my first time using XF and I have to say I'm really impressed with the quality of the software. It feels well built, stable and very customisable.

What I like about XenForo
- Modern design
- Great use of js
- Unique feel to it
- Heavily customisable
- Template system is very easy to work with

What I think could be improved
- Admin node area - it works but it doesn't feel fluid enough. I find I have to switch between different areas just to do a few things all related to one node.

- Ban options - The only thing I miss from phpBB is the option for one-click bans for spammers. There is a mod but I think it should be an included option to ban a user directly from the forum with only a mouse click (I know there is a warning system and the level defines how long the user is banned for but, in my opinion, it is overly complicated.)

- User Groups - Again this feels overly complicated. Maybe it's just me who thinks this but I do think it's easier to manage group options on other forum software.

Overall I am really impressed and would happily recommend XF to anyone. It's great value (just over £100) and very well made.

Thank you for making good quality software.

I've tried most forum platforms such as phpBB, vBulletin, IPB and MyBB. They all have strong and weak points. I recently moved a small forum of mine over to XF from phpBB. It's my first time using XF and I have to say I'm really impressed with the quality of the software. It feels well built, stable and very customisable.

What I like about XenForo
- Modern design
- Great use of js
- Unique feel to it
- Heavily customisable
- Template system is very easy to work with