On two occasions my host has helped me by taking a current backup of my site and restoring it to a new location so I can use it for testing. Each time when I first go to the site, I see the "An update is pending. The forum is only accessible in debug mode." message. Each time it shows my site in RC3, and when I click to upgrade, it says "Click the button to begin the upgrade to 1.0.0 RC3" which is confusing as well, since my site was in 1.0.0 at the time of the backup. Any ideas as to what is causing this issue? My site otherwise appears fine with what I can see.