• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

New member tags with custom fields and other information

Live Free

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe it's possible to create a new members tab displaying specific custom fields, either with XenForo or any add-ons.

If that is correct I'd like to try my hand st developing it myself.

I have a number of member tab features I'd like to implement, such as calling and filtering custom fields from the research manager or displaying a grid total threads/posts in specific forums.

To start, however, I would be satisfied if I could create a new tab that displays in a members profile that displays specific custom fields in a specific order, and only displays the tab if one of the select custom fields holds a value.

I'm new to Xenforo Development so I'm not sure how to proceed.

Where should I start?

Sim

You mean like this?

2017-03-10_16-19-33.png

... that's just a couple of template modifications to insert the tab and trigger the page to be loaded , plus an extension to the XenForo_ControllerPublic_Member class to provide a controller action to generate the content to display.

Start by looking at the member_view template and looking for the hooks: "member_view_tabs_heading" and "member_view_tabs_content" - that's what I used in the template modification (add your replacements below those lines).

Use the examples of the existing profile tabs to work out how they work (hint: the id of the li element is the key and triggers the tab loading).

I would give more concrete examples, but don't have time at the moment, sorry. Hopefully that gives you something to start on though.

Live Free

@Sim Thank you I appreciate you taking the time to respond.