INT Permission Type - Inverse Priority

MrDeranged

Hope that I explain this right as I'm NOT a developer (obviously) ;).

Seeing as the current implementation of the INT permission goes by the highest number, I suggest the creation of a 2nd type of INT permission for developers to use that will do the opposite and go by the lowest number.

Use case would be for any permission made for time delaying an action (in which a lower number would actually be of greater value)

For example, if there was an addon that delayed the time between posts:
  • registered - need to wait 24 hours before making an additional post.
  • registered + - need to wait 12 hours before making an additional post.
Having a lower delay time (12 hours) would be of greater value to a user.

Other than changing the users primary usergroup to registered + (which opens up whole realms of other issues) there is no other way (that I know of) to do this.

Or lets take the upcoming Name Change permission in XF 2.2 <edited as per @Chris D XF 2.2's name change delay function is implemented as a global option, didn't realize that when originally posting.>

For another example if I use an addon where a Name Change delay function is implemented as a permission:

If I want my users to be able to do the following:
  • registered - change name every 365 days.
  • registered + - change name every 182 days
there is no way (TIKO) to do this other than, once again, changing the primary usergroup.

I'm sure there are other use cases where an Inverse Priority INT permission would be usable, but those were the two off the top of my head.

Last edited:
Upvote 9
I will note that until the upcoming username change system I'm pretty sure there was nothing in the core product that had an integer-based permission where "lower is better".

But we will shortly have a "Minimum time between username changes" where lower is indeed "better".

1590868350594-png.226623