Dating scripts?

jauburn

Some of my members end up forming romantic attractions, so I was wondering whether I should branch out by offering a dating component. Anyone ever use any dating scripts? I have no experience with them at all.

Used to have something very simple that was sort of like Facebook where you can say your relationship status and type the member's name.

Unfortunately that was years ago and it was broken. You literally had to type the full name the way the user had it. So if the name was xIsabel and you typed XIsabel then it wouldn't work. It also didn't require the other user to confirm the relationship. As I said, it was very basic and broken.

To my surprise though users actually started using it just to play with each other. They knew it was broken and so they had more fun with it. "Marrying" each other for ****s and giggles and then "cheating" on each other the next day by marrying someone else.

If I was to do it now, for XenForo it'd probably be a lot easier. The name could autocomplete or be provided in a dropdown the way it is for other add-ons, alerts can be sent, users would have to confirm a relationship, and maybe even have a display in their postbit. Now it seems like there's just so much more that could be done with it.

I think xenforo is a great platform to have a dating script built upon. Pretty much all the dating scripts out there are grossly outdated, so some modern competition would not hurt at all.

Some of my members end up forming romantic attractions, so I was wondering whether I should branch out by offering a dating component. Anyone ever use any dating scripts? I have no experience with them at all.
Can you please tell me how so few members make so many posts? How did you build that? Wow! Great work.

eMeeting
I bought this script when it first launched a good few years ago , its now on to version 10...
But I never got around to doing anything with it so cant show you an example of a MY SITE....