XF 2.0 CRUD Hooks for Algolia Search

Hi All,

Using XF2 Beta 5

I'm new to Xenforo so please bear with me.

We are using Algolia on our publishing site (in development) and would like to port it to XF. I do appreciate that there is an Elasticsearch option, but Algolia better suits our needs.

Question is, how would we go about hooking into CRUD operations for threads, users, messages, media etc? We have the server side code working well on our publishing site based on Algolia's WP plugin, so am hoping it wouldn't be too difficult to use what we already have for writing to Algolia, but modified to hook in XF CRUDs.

We don't need any front end code (or minimal) as we intend using our JS front end from the publishing site - although we may decide to integrate what we have with the existing search UI (undecided).

So how easy would this be? I am hoping we could mod something that already exists, or if it's outside of our skillset, would be prepared to pay for the server side code/plugin.

Any help would be appreciated.

Chris

The way the search system is designed is that it's split into two distinct pieces. There's the search "data handler" side which deals with different content types, e.g. threads, messages and media. Then there's the search "source handler" which deals with the actual API of whatever search system you want to use. So, by default we include a source handler for MySQL full text search. Our Enhanced Search add-on doesn't do much more than add a new source handler for the Elastic search software.