• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Fixed  Alerts are not removed when a profile post is deleted

#1
I've received an alert that someone has written a message on my profile, but when I click on the link in the alert I get:

XenForo Community - Error
You do not have permission to view this page or perform this action.

I can , however, access my profile via the drop down.

Any ideas?

*edit: I wish there was a quote code available in the posting box!
 

Sador

Well-known member
#3
My guess would be that the person that wrote it (soft)deleted his message again, which made the link point toward something that isn't visible to regular users anymore, therefore giving the permission error.
 
#5
Couldn't the software automatically remove the alert if the message no longer exists, or at least inform the user that the message has been deleted?

I imagine board admins will get mightily pestered if their users keep getting the same thing...
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#6
Just had a chat with Mike and he wants to look into this so I've edited the thread title to more accurately reflect the issue.
 

DoctorWatsOn

Well-known member
#8
Oh, and although I had the alert saying that "--- wrote a message on your profile" there is in fact nothing on my profile.
Oops, sorry that was me. :oops:

I posted on your profile page in error instead of starting a PC, so I deleted the profile post.

Although, of course, it would be handy if the system also deleted the alert.