XF 1.5 Xenforo Password Blob to SHA256

Dretax

I am trying to compare the specified password to the one in the database.

AFAIK Xenforo does: SHA256(SHA256(pw) + XenforoSalt)
https://github.com/Contex/XenAPI/blob/master/net/xenapi/XenAPI/api.php

I am not really a web developer, but how would I go ahead and encrypt the specific string to the one I received?
As I see this php reads the specific blob file, and then converts it to a base64 string.

But how does It converts my specified password to that exact string? I am trying to implement It to lua specifically but any other language examples can come good.

This sql query gives me back the blob and userid i need, but I still do not know how to make the same string from a password output:
SQL:
SELECT `data`, `user_id` FROM `xf_user_authenticate` WHERE `user_id` = (SELECT `user_id` FROM `xf_user_field_value` WHERE `field_value` = 'username') LIMIT 1

Last edited:
I have never worked with Auth, but look at XF\Authentication\Core

esspecially getPasswordHash() and createHash()

Maybe that helps.

I have never worked with Auth, but look at XF\Authentication\Core

esspecially getPasswordHash() and createHash()

Maybe that helps.
That only creates the hash, but not the blob's hash as I have seen. @Jake Bunce might be able to help me out regarding this issue, because I think that mysql query isnt the best either.

XenForo will use the best encryption it has available to it, usually this will be bcrypt, it will only fallback to lower methods such as sha if the better ones are unavailable.

XenForo will use the best encryption it has available to it, usually this will be bcrypt, it will only fallback to lower methods such as sha if the better ones are unavailable.
We have a winner here. Correct, my db stores bcrypt. That is being stored as a blob file which I can read.
Question is how many maximum number of rounds does xenforo perform with bcrypt?