• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Usergroup changes * before * importing forums?

CTXMedia

Formerly CyclingTribe
#1
Are usergroup changes retro-active?

i.e.; if I complete my full import and then later change a usergroup setting - is the setting applied to all forums? or do I have to go back to each one to apply the change?

If that is the case, then am I better off importing usergroups first, making the changes I want, then importing the forums (so any changes are applied at the time of import)?

I'm just trying to minimise my workload for the migration this coming weekend ... (y)
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#2
I'm not sure what you mean by "if I complete my full import and then later change a usergroup setting - is the setting applied to all forums? or do I have to go back to each one to apply the change?"

User group settings apply to members and cover forum permissions as a whole, not individual nodes.
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#4
Retroactive in what sense?
Do you mean for example if you remove the ability to vote on polls, will all previous votes be removed from polls? No, that isn't the case.

The permissions are what they are at that point time and have no bearing on previous or future settings.