Surely this shouldn't happen? I can't find anything in preferences about this apart from:
Receive email when a new conversation message is received
Email notifications for new conversations, replies to existing conversations, and being added to an existing conversation.
Presumably you would tick this if you want emails for conversations you are participating in, but you would not expect it to also mean conversations you wee in but no longer.