XF 1.5 User Group Promotions question

Hi

20% of users on my forum haven't posted but log in regularly to read threads and log out without adding any value to the community.
'
I'd like to restrict access to all the nodes except the 'Say Hello' node until users have introduced themselves and have at least a post count of 1, then be promoted to have the same permissions as the registered users group.

This is my first time creating a group and the forum has no secondary groups, just the four default groups!

I've created a new user group 'SayHello' and promotion 'SayHelloProm'
I haven't touched the primary registered users group permissions
I have left the 'SayHello' group permissions all at Not Set (No)
I have revoked the View Node: permission for the nodes I would like to restrict access to
Rebuilt User Group Promotions caches

When I test the above with a dummy account with 0 posts, the dummy user can still see all the nodes when logged in and doesn't appear when I search in Promotion History after logging out.

Promotion Options:

Promotion is active: checked
Add User to User Groups: 'SayHello' checked

Apply this promotion while...

User Groups: User is a member of the 'SayHello' user group: checked/selected
Content and Achievements: User has posted at least 1 messages: checked*

I think I have the permissions and/or the promotion criteria set wrong but can't find the problem and would be very grateful for some help. I have read User Group Promotions and Implementing Permissions again but it isn't helping.

Edit: * I see I have posts set to at least 1 message which is 80% of the users and this is the problem I think. What criteria would I need to restrict users with 0 posts?

Last edited:
I'm not 100% clear on your exact setup from your description but this is what you want to get it working:

Nodes: Make all nodes except the 'Say Hello' node private by following the instructions here: