1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading rewrites my old database

Discussion in 'Installation, Upgrade, and Import Support' started by VXL, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. VXL

    VXL Member

    The last several times I upgraded Xenforo to the latest version, it has asked to rewrite my tables. Basically, it wipes out my database clean before upgrading. I end up having to manually reimport my old database and then everything works.

    What's up with this quirk in the upgrade process? How can I avoid it in the future?
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan XenForo Moderator Staff Member

    You are not doing it correctly.

    Unzip the files.
    FTP them to your server.
    Run the upgrade process.

    If you are doing a clean install it is because you haven't uploaded the (correct) files to the correct location.

    http://xenforo.com/help/upgrades/
     
  3. Jake Bunce

    Jake Bunce XenForo Moderator Staff Member

    It sounds like you overwrote the internal_data directory and thereby removed the internal_data/install-lock.php file. That would cause the install to run instead of the upgrade.

    Don't overwrite that directory. Most FTP programs will merge instead of overwrite, but the "upgrade" package of XenForo omits that directory so it won't possibly overwrite.
     
    tyteen4a03 likes this.

Share This Page