Thinking about a move from vB 3.8.6

Jeff Fuqua

I've been running vB since 2000 but am considering a move to XenForo. For those of you who has recently made the decision, what should a non-techie (like myself) consider before making a decision?

I'm compiling a list of features I use hacks now for. I would probably need help in making the transition along with help designing a custom skin.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Jeff, "non-techie" here. Honestly, played around with vB for a while, never felt comfortable. Decided to go against the grain (at the time), got xen, and I have never enjoyed doing forum stuff as much as now.

Between Brogan, Jake, Floris, and a slew of others, any questions you could possibly find will be answered. Tons of features, the best add-ons I have come across (mesh very well with xenForo, almost looks to be a core addition), help that you will not get or find anywhere else.

Simply put, scroll up, purchase, start the conversion, come back once you are running and start selecting the add-ons you need. This is the easiest forum software I ahve came across, and I actually feel pretty comfortable going in and editing things.

I moved from vB3.8 having used it for a very long time. I found Xenforo very easy to style. The import from vB was very smooth. You will be missing some features that vB has, some of these can be put back in through add-ons, some can't, but on balance you won't miss them (I haven't). There are lots of ex-vB users here who will try and help if you need it.

Jeff, "non-techie" here. Honestly, played around with vB for a while, never felt comfortable. Decided to go against the grain (at the time), got xen, and I have never enjoyed doing forum stuff as much as now.
I just visited your site and your front page has a ton of nice features. Integration with Facebook is important to me (and don't have it now). Is your front page XF "out-of-the-box", add-ons or custom code?