Struggling with new install

Mindzipper

let me preface this by saying, We have many years experience with MySQL, we have little to no experience with Transactional databases (innodb) so I'm a newbie all over again.

I have my forum running, but it is excrutiatingly slow when importing. I mean disgustingly so. I installed a 3rd party theme (digi) and i did it on a sandox install i have on the RDS service at Amazon. At amazon it installed in a few seconds. On my server? 30 minutes minimum. 45 is closer to accurate.

the front end runs smooth and ast, it is ONLY an issue when i import.

I could survive this, but i have to do a vb4 import of a forum that's been running for 7 years, and is 1.1gb with NO files in the db. they're stored in the filesystem. that is pure db text. over a million if you include PMs and threads/posts. it would take a month.

i tried to do the import, and i can't even do it. I can import the users, mods, all the way down to the forums. everything imports fine, but is slow. When I get to the threads/posts? i get the error that MySQL has 'gone away'. my gut feeling is i'm running out fo RAM. this is a dedicated DB server running at Digital Ocean. it's a $20.00 server running CentOS 7, and MariaDB

here is my config. I followed the advice of a mod in the troubleshooting forum, and went aggressive with my settings, then backed them off. nothing helped my speed.

here is my config. has anyone got an aswer? this db server is very empty. it's only running 1 other db. then this one. I'm starting to stress because I started trying to import at 11pm. it is now 6 am, and I am NOWHWHERE.

I ended up wiping my entire install. no sweat I think, i'll just restore the db dump I made prior to importing. Wrong..... duplicate entries, dump fail. so i had to install fresh.... which i've done, but I need to figure this out before trying again.

here is my config

user=mysql
bind-address=0.0.0.0
connect_timeout=10
wait_timeout=15
local-infile=0
log_warnings=0