1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fixed Personal Conversations: "Delete conversation" phrase is misleading

Discussion in 'Resolved Bug Reports' started by NolF, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. NolF

    NolF Active Member

    When pressing "delete conversation" in a private conversation, two options show up
    1. Accept future messages
    2. Ignore future messages
    Neither of them deletes the conversation per se, #1 hides it until there is another reply, #2 logs you out of that conversation. In both cases the conversation can continue on if there are more than 2 people (or if the link is still known).
     
  2. Cezz

    Cezz Well-Known Member

    How would you word it???

    Other than making it simply two options...

    1. Hide Conversation
    2. Leave Conversation

    I can't think of a unified term for both of these Delete seems fine to me as it deletes it from your inbox either way.
     
  3. Disjunto

    Disjunto Well-Known Member

    I told Kier this when I was first testing it conversations, he didn't seem to care.... or something :) let me go check what he said

     
  4. jmurrayhead

    jmurrayhead Well-Known Member

    If you didn't start the conversation, why should you be able to delete it? For example, if 5 people are in a conversation, and one person wants out and deletes it, how are the rest supposed to continue the conversation? I'm betting that a copy of each message isn't in the database for each user. Each user is likely linked to the conversation so they see the messages.
     
  5. Disjunto

    Disjunto Well-Known Member

    That's the point I was trying to get across to Kier (and my initial confusion) The conversation is never deleted, deleting it never stops the other participants from viewing it. It is just "Deleted" for the user. I really do think "Leave Conversation" is the best wording
     
  6. Peggy

    Peggy Well-Known Member

    The rest can continue the conversation. The person who deletes it is deleting it only from their profile.
     
  7. jmurrayhead

    jmurrayhead Well-Known Member

    ah, I misunderstood. My bad :p
     
  8. Peggy

    Peggy Well-Known Member

    [​IMG]
     
  9. jmurrayhead

    jmurrayhead Well-Known Member

    unfortunately, photobucket is blocked via our proxy at work...but, I caught the drift when I saw "spanking.gif" in the source code :p
     
  10. Peggy

    Peggy Well-Known Member

    ah darn those proxy's
     
  11. Onimua

    Onimua Well-Known Member

    So wait... what if everyone decides to leave the conversation? Does it then become an orphan conversation running around the database, or is it deleted?
     
    Abomination likes this.
  12. Enigma

    Enigma Well-Known Member

    In that case, it's probably actually deleted, just like with PMs in vB, which aren't actually deleted until everyone deletes their "copy".
     
  13. Onimua

    Onimua Well-Known Member

    Probably, yes, but I just want to be sure. :p Could be Mike or Kier forgot about that particular instance (slim though). No harm in bringing it up. :)
     
    Nix likes this.
  14. NolF

    NolF Active Member

    I like those two options, I would probably change the phrase "delete conversation" to "manage conversation" or something like that. I originally (honestly) thought I could delete the conversation for all participants by merely pressing that button as I wasn't aware it had sub-options, and the phrase was quite "clear" in what would happen.
     
  15. Mike

    Mike XenForo Developer Staff Member

    I've changed it to "Leave Conversation". Will appear here soon.
     
  16. Sejper

    Sejper Active Member

    So I am curious if the conversation is deleted from the database or not if everybody leaves. Can we get any confirmation on what happens if everybody leaves?
     
  17. Mike

    Mike XenForo Developer Staff Member

    It's removed. Would just be wrong otherwise. Orphan data (particularly orphaning a user can do) is not a good thing.
     
  18. Disjunto

    Disjunto Well-Known Member

    what if everyone has it set to ignore... not sure of your database structure, but this seems like a weird case, maybe not though
     
  19. NolF

    NolF Active Member

    I'm speculating here but I would expect that if you knew the URL you would still have access and thus be able to reply an activate it for other participants :/
     
  20. Enigma

    Enigma Well-Known Member

    If all participants leave the conversation, regardless of whether they choose "accept future messages" or "ignore future messages", then the correct behavior would be to completely delete the conversation. It most likely already works like this.
     

Share This Page