Moving from Dedicated server to VPS

JK2447

Hi All, just wanted to speak my thoughts out loud so that you good people could shoot me down or back up my thinking.

I bought a forum from a friend that is hosted on a dedicated server in Germany which is rather costly. I pay the hosting charges for another month or two but I plan to migrate my Xenforo forum to a vps with SSDnodes (4 vCPU, 16GB RAM 80GB SSD). Is this easy to do? I currently have CentOS 7 installed on my VPS.

Is there a way to host a Wordpress blog on the same VPS would you know? I'm an IT blogger so if my VPS can take it, I might as well look to host another site or two

Any help is very much appreciated as I'm new to web/forum-mastery
Jim

The migration itself is relatively easy and can definitely be done. The potential issue is if the forum requires those dedicated resources, putting it on a VPS is not going to be a pleasant experience. Just depends on how large and resource-intensive the forum is.

You can definitely host multiple websites on the same server, again, depending on the resources.

The migration itself is relatively easy and can definitely be done. The potential issue is if the forum requires those dedicated resources, putting it on a VPS is not going to be a pleasant experience. Just depends on how large and resource-intensive the forum is.

You can definitely host multiple websites on the same server, again, depending on the resources.
Thank you wswd. I guess I'll just have to migrate and see how I get on. I'm new to this so not really sure if my site could be considered busy or not. About ten posts a day but not sure how many lurkers

Thank you wswd. I guess I'll just have to migrate and see how I get on. I'm new to this so not really sure if my site could be considered busy or not. About ten posts a day but not sure how many lurkers