XF 2.1 Failure of xf-addon:create. Please help.

Anatoliy

Hi developers,

I'm a noob, just installed a test xenForo, follow xf2-docs/dev/ and when I got to "Create the add-on", I'm stuck. I run '$ php cmd.php xf-addon:create' and getting 'Development output for this add-on ID has been disabled. Cannot continue.'

What could be the reason? Thanks in advance.

Just a wild guess here. The error seems to do indicate the _output folder for your add-on is the issue. According to:
View attachment 217486
Hope this was done by you.

Also replace Demo/Portal with your add-on ID

yeah, I did that

Code:
$config['development']['enabled'] = true;
$config['development']['defaultAddOn'] = 'Cmoon/Doit';
$config['cookie']['prefix'] = 'anything_';
$config['enableMail'] = false;

I thought that maybe it's a conflict of 2 forums on the same domain, so I installed xenForo on a different domain. Now in ACP I see "The following issues should be resolved. Once they have been resolved, check for upgrades again to confirm. The Board URL option does not match the site URL configured for your license." When I run '$ php cmd.php xf-addon:create' I'm again getting 'Development output for this add-on ID has been disabled. Cannot continue.'
Maybe I need to apply for some registration or approval to use forum software for an add-on development purpose? I remember a year ago I was told that it's ok to use my licensed forum soft to install a second dev copy as long as it's not publicly accessible. Maybe something changed from that time?

That message can be ignored for test and development installations.

You just need to ensure they comply with the terms of the license.
You may create additional test installations for the purpose of testing the Software. Any test installation of this kind must be password protected, installed at a URL that makes the testing purpose clear, not used for production purposes and access to it must be limited to You and Your website staff.