XF 1.5 Email Confirmation link redirects to a subdomain

Hey guys I have a problem, I hope that you can help me to see what's going on.

When I try to register a new account on my board, I get the regular email with confirmation link :

Confirm Account

If I copy and paste the link on a browser, it gives me the "account verified" message.

But If I click directly on that link to confirm the account, it will redirect me to this address.


And I get this error message:

Network Error (dns_unresolved_hostname)
Your requested host "defaultemail.website.com" could not be resolved by DNS.
For assistance, contact your network support team.
Your request was categorized by Blue Coat Web Filter as 'Business/Economy;Reference;Society/Daily Living'.

If I try using safari I get the same type of error:

"safari can't open the page because it can't find the server"

I disabled all my addons and I still have the same problem, Im using sendgrid, and also the Automated Bounced Email Handler.

I would appreciate any input.


XenForo moderator
Staff member
A URL redirecting would typically be due to something set at the web server level.

However, it may be worth checking the Board URL in the ACP Options is correct as a first step.

Then you may want to look at any rewrite rules that may be in place.
yeah I think it's correct...

my forum has been installed in the main root folder, no "/forum" or anything..

the board url in the ACP option is :

No trailing slash at the end.

I haven't changed any rewrite rules since I migrated the forum..

Any advice to see what I need to check in the .htaccess?


XenForo moderator
Staff member
If you copy and paste the URL from the email to a text editor, how does it appear?

It's possible the URL being displayed withing the email is different to the actual hyperlink.
If I hover the mouse on top of the link without clicking it I see the big address at the bottom of the browser. But if I right click on the "confirm account" message and copy the link, I get the correct address copied. Then, If I right click and select the"copy link address" option I get the big address copied...

The address looks ok, but the hyperlink behind it redirects to the "defaultemail.website.com" address.

Any ideas?

Thanks again.


XenForo moderator
Staff member
If the hyperlink differs from the displayed text then you may need to check the email provider you are using as it may be manipulating the URL in some way.
Thank you for helping me Brogan, I already disabled sendgrid "smtp.sendgrid.net" and changed it to my server address and I'm no longer being redirected.

I think that I may need to go with another provider.