1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XF 1.1 Does "User Group Promotion" Remove the Existing User Group Assigned to Users?

Discussion in 'XenForo Questions and Support' started by Shyuan, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. Shyuan

    Shyuan Well-Known Member


    Currently, newly registered and verified users will be categorised in the group of "Newbie". I created a Promotion where if a user has posted at least 10 messages, he will be promoted to the group of "Advanced Member".

    I was wondering, whenever a user is being promoted to the group "Advanced Member", does his previous group "Newbie" removed from his profile or he will have both groups assigned to him and I need to manually remove the "Newbie" from him?

    Thanks in advanced! :)
  2. Jake Bunce

    Jake Bunce XenForo Moderator Staff Member

    It will be added as a secondary group. Promotions are always secondary. It does not remove the previous group, nor is there a need to if your permissions are setup correctly. Normally a new group would just add more Allowed permissions. Permissions are additive unless you use Never or Revoke which are subtractive.
    Shyuan likes this.
  3. Shyuan

    Shyuan Well-Known Member

    Thank you for your clarification, Jake :)

Share This Page