XF 1.2 Demarcate Conversations Style From Threads

ProCom

Maybe it's just because I'm still new to xF, but I keep finding that when I'm in a conversation with someone I'm often wondering if I'm in a thread.

Maybe it's also because of the way I do thing: I'll open up 10 different tabs with threads, conversations, etc. and I find that it isn't really super clear to me which I'm in, especially if I'm in the middle of a long page of discussion.

Am I the only one that has a hard time differentiating when browsing?

Any simple ways to change the color / look of conversations so they aren't an exact copy of threads?

Thanks!

you could always try using the .conversation_view class to style conversations. So for example: the following css would be as follows:

Code:
.conversation_view .messageList .message {background-color: #ffcfcf; padding: 10px; border-radius: 5px; border: 1px solid #c79494; margin-bottom: 10px;}
.conversation_view .messageInfo {background-color: #ffcfcf;}

And the output of that would be as follows. It's just a simple change but it gives you an understanding to what class you should use and all this code and styling would go into your EXTRA.CSS template.

Screenshot_36.webp

Conversations should be styled very simple and very condensed. There is no need for a large postbit for example.

Also new messages should be inserted via AJAX automatically when viewing a conversation.

Great points @HWS ! I'd actually love to remove signatures, most of the postbit, etc. from conversations, but that's a lot of editing that is over my payscale. :)

Great points @HWS ! I'd actually love to remove signatures, most of the postbit, etc. from conversations, but that's a lot of editing that is over my payscale. :)

here's a somewhat condensed down version.

Message userinfo styling removed.
signatures removed
Messageuserinfo/avatar removed from conversation editor

You would only need to style to your preference with the colours you want etc.

Code: