I just created a few test categories and resources and connected some existing threads to them. Then I deleted a category and noticed that all the resources in that category were deleted. That`s OK but the connected threads were also gone.
I think it would be better if this could be made an option. Sometimes I like to keep the discussions even when the resources are deleted.