Custom Posts Per Page User Setting

DeltaHF

Best Weekly GIF Winner
While going over XenForo's configuration options, it suddenly occurred to me that users cannot configure their own custom "posts per page" setting, and with only one global default.

Considering I've been using vBulletin for about 10 years now, I know some my users are going to be absolutely livid when they realize they can no longer change this on their own. :unsure:

I'd like to see it in XF soon.

Upvote 15
Not necessarily, Brogan. XenForo also provides page-independent direct links to posts. Here's the one for the post you used in your example above:

http://xenforo.com/community/posts/251914/

This actually brings up a larger question - why isn't that the permalink offered up by default in all the little widgets? Otherwise, if an administrator changes the default posts-per-page in the control panel, nearly every post permalinks will break.

That could be a pretty serious problem.

I'm well aware of that, but most all users will just copy and paste the URL from the address bar or permalink, and if members have different numbers of posts per page, the links won't work.

Yes, I understand the problems with those page-dependent links, and that a lot of users will simply grab them from the address bar.

What I don't understand is why those anchored links are included in the templates at all, when the page-independent links are already available and guaranteed to work forever - even if the administrator changes the forum's global posts-per-page or if user's individual posts-per-page settings are eventually introduced sometime in the future.

Yes, I understand the problems with those page-dependent links, and that a lot of users will simply grab them from the address bar.