Would you use a Cloud server or webhosting for XenForo?

If you need to ask you are better off using regular hosting. Setting up your own fast/stable and secure vps has a steep learning curve.
Well I'm pretty comfortable using servers. In fact I've never used web hosting before. I'm dealing with lots of cloud and dedicated servers in my daily life.

But for some stuff like running a simple hobbyist XenForo forum, I would prefer a peace of mind. I created this thread to have an overall idea of how people are running their forums.

I guess I'll go with XenForo's Cloud solution once it's released. I signed up for Beta for a while ago but still haven't received anything.

The Cloud service is still in beta and currently closed to new subscriptions.

It will be opened up for general use soon™ though.

IMO the only reason not to use a VPS is if you don't have the knowledge required to be able to build and maintain it.
I have worked in IT officially for 22 years and was doing it as part of another role for a decade before that.

I don't run my board on a VPS because it is small enough to work quite well on our shared host and I would rather not be doing my day job in my after hours hobbies. I love tinkering with Xenforo but have no interest in building and maintaining servers in my free time when that's what I do at work (or used to, now I mostly manage the team that does it).

I also have the problem that my host has never launched their promised VPS offering so I am into a site move and a new host if I want to go VPS and until I see how this board fares in the next few years, I am reluctant to sink time and effort into that.

cloud (self-managed) is probably more expensive than a shared host for a small site. you can't leverage the economies of scale with no scale.