1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Usergroup Settings Before and After vB Import

Discussion in 'XenForo Questions and Support' started by Phillip, May 30, 2011.

  1. Phillip

    Phillip Active Member

    All of the permissions of our default XenForo usergroups have been configured in XenForo.

    We then did another test import from vBulletin 3.7 and now have these usergroups...

    - Administrative
    - Banned
    - Moderating
    - Registered
    - Registered
    - Super Moderators

    Were the permissions of our usergroups changed after the vBulletin import? Is there a way to keep this from happening?

    Also, can we safely delete the extra usergroups? For now we just want the stock XenForo usergroups to get used to the new software.

    The next import we do will be "for real" so we just to configure the vBulletin forum properly before the import occurs espescially pertaining to the usergroups.
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan XenForo Moderator Staff Member

    Any non-standard user groups from the source DB will be recreated during the import.

    You can safely delete them, any members will default to the XenForo Registered group.

    There's some information on the default user groups here: http://xenforo.com/help/user-groups/

    If you deal with the user groups in your source vBulletin database before the import, then you won't face this problem again.

    Don't forget you will need to reload a backup of your XenForo database before doing the import again or you will end up with duplicated content.
     
  3. Phillip

    Phillip Active Member

    What are the steps exactly to "dealing with usergroups" before the import?

    Also, should the vBulletin forum permissions all be reset to their default before the import?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan XenForo Moderator Staff Member

    Well if you only want to have the 4 default user groups after the import then you will need to remove any custom user groups from your existing installation as they won't be mapped to one of those four groups.
     

Share This Page