1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XF 1.5 Re-do permissions?

Discussion in 'XenForo Questions and Support' started by Bob_R, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    Is there a way to re-do/fix permissions?

    I demodded someone and it seems to be that the permissions are not the permissions of the registered user group. They don't have mod permissions but it seems there permissions are anot different.


    Bonus question :) How can I ensure that the user is now registered and not a mod? The user settings are for registered but he still shows as a mod in Notable members
  2. Jake B.

    Jake B. Well-Known Member

    Did you go to Users -> Moderators and remove him? Or just remove from the moderating usergroup?
  3. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    Removed with Users -> Moderators like you mentioned.
  4. Mike

    Mike XenForo Developer Staff Member

    You can check the permission analyzer to see where the permissions are coming from.

    Users displaying as staff is not directly tied to being a moderator. It's controlled by the "display as staff" option per user. You can check the value of that when editing the user.
  5. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    Ok, thanks. i believe I have the permissions set correctly.

    See screenshot. This person is no longer a mod. How come the name is still there (notable members)?

    Screen Shot 2016-08-28 at 6.47.27 PM.png
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2016
  6. Tracy Perry

    Tracy Perry Well-Known Member

    Odds are you have a specific USER group (like the registered, administrator) that is called Moderator and they are a member of it as a secondary group (should not be their primary as that should be registered).
  7. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    This is what they have:

    User Group = Registered

    Secondary User Groups = NOTHING checked
  8. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    I got it. Had to fiddle with Widget Framework.
  9. Tracy Perry

    Tracy Perry Well-Known Member

    The cache settings by chance?
  10. Bob_R

    Bob_R Active Member

    That was my first thought but no. I changed The maximum number of users will be shown and it just erased/deleted the name.

Share This Page