We have created a user upgrade that expires monthly and have checked the box to automatically charge recurring payments. At some point, we will want to disallow new purchases, but allow those who have already purchased to continue making their recurring payments and enjoy the upgrade benefits. It seems, however, that if we uncheck the "Can be purchased" checkbox, the upgrade is disabled, and when the cron is run users who've reached an expiration date are downgraded.
So, in short, if we're understanding this correctly, users can only remain active if the user upgrade is available for purchase.
Is that correct? Are we missing something?
If this is correct, perhaps a future XF upgrade could include an option "First time purchases allowed" or something to that effect, which if unchecked would allow for recurring members to keep their account active while disallowing new purchases.