New xenForo User has a few questions

rusty105

Hello everyone! I have been using phpBB3 for several years, but think it is starting to slow down as far as development goes, and is starting to get dated. I still think they only want to code the forums. Anyway, bought a copy recently and want to see how xenForo works, but I have a few questions. 1) I have the forums root at www.foo.com/forums, how do I get xenForo to create a home page at the www.foo.com level? 2) What are some of the more popular/needed add-ons?

I will probably have many more questions as I come up to speed with xenForo
Rusty

I'm not precisely sure what you mean about the home page. You can have a tab on the navbar at the top, linking to a home page external to the forums, or not have that.
That's a simple toggle Options/ Options./ Basic Board Info ----- Home Page URL

My signature has a link to my Tutorial with the guidance you want about key addons most of us like to include.

Probably the most demanded addon is a CMS. There is xenporta which many really like, but many don't. Several addons in preparation right now are looking hopeful, notably CMF.

You can either install a portal at your root level or you can setup forwarding rules in your htaccess to send root level visitors to the subdirectory, www.foo.com/forums. The most popular portal is Jaxels XenPorta.

I'm not precisely sure what you mean about the home page. You can have a tab on the navbar at the top, linking to a home page external to the forums, or not have that.
That's a simple toggle Options/ Options./ Basic Board Info ----- Home Page URL

My signature has a link to my Tutorial with the guidance you want about key addons most of us like to include.

Probably the most demanded addon is a CMS. There is xenporta which many really like, but many don't. Several addons in preparation right now are looking hopeful, notably CMF.
Morgain,