Migrate from IPS?

Crba

Hi

I am an ordinary administrator.
Why should I switch to XenForo and leave IPS?

Interested in the opinion of experts and former owners of IPS

Last edited:
Interested in the opinion of former IPS owners
My experience of admining with IPS is years ago so can only comment as a user on various forums that use it and all I can say is the experience can be a bit frustrating just trying to format posts.

Best thing might be to just try the free demo.

Sorry to hijack the thread but am in the same boat with IPS. It now seems far cheaper to run XenForo (the new $19 monthly self-hosted IPS license is daylight robbery) so am looking into it all before purchasing and migrating over.

Can someone tell me if its easier to put XenForo into another directory, migrate from IPS in the root, then move XenForo into the root when completed?
Also, to anyone thats recently migrated from IPS, is there anything at all that doesn't convert? I have a few other custom reactions added in IPS, so wonder if they'll all disappear?

Thanks

Why? Because of the 3rd party add on market. No software is as well equipped in 3rd party add ons like Xenforo. If you like pushing and customizing the software, Xenforo is miles better than IPS.

Welcome to the club, we were on IPS for a while and had to switch because of a bug in there subscription system they would not fix which had us loosing $5,000+ USD / Month in revenue. IPS is going full corporate and basically screwing over their community.

Screenshot 2024-03-08 103238.webp

Last edited:
I've read a few posts that there are some issues getting the polls migrated from IPB to XF?

Can anyone confirm?
XF does not support:
  • Multiple questions
  • Links in poll options