1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Massive CPU Load Due to PHP

Discussion in 'Server Configuration and Hosting' started by tehelgee, Nov 29, 2014.

1. tehelgee

tehelgee Member

I run a Xenforo forum that gets about 60-120 users at a time, depending on time of day. And after the first day of running the forum, servers loads have being extremely high: spiking up to 16 on a 4 core system at times. The memory shows about 60% use at max, so it's not a problem there.

Using top in ssh shows the problem to be php. It constitutes the majority of the high cpu load processes.

What can i do to help alleviate this problem?

I'm a complete noob at running a VPS, btw, so please answer in layman's terms.
  2. Solidus

Solidus Well-Known Member

Which PHP handler are you using? DSO, fastcgi, suPHP etc..
  3. tehelgee

tehelgee Member

How do I check that in WHM?

I called myself a complete noob for a reason.
  4. Solidus

Service Configuration > Configure PHP and suEXEC
  5. tehelgee

tehelgee Member

6. Solidus

7. tehelgee

tehelgee Member

Yeah, it's just my single site on the VPS.

And I'm willing to try just about anything to fix this problem. How will I go about installing DSO? Or do I contact my provider and ask them to do it?
  8. Solidus

DSO is packaged with WHM, just select it on the Configure PHP and suEXEC page.

9. tehelgee

tehelgee Member

Oh, okay.

Now, before I do anything with it, the page you linked me to earlier said that permissions are more fiddly with DSO. Will the permissions set themselves, or will I? Because if I need to, I'd like you(or anyone) to help me figure that out before I do anything.

Like I mentioned earlier, it's just one website running on the VPS, and that's all I ever foresee there being. The forum is the entire point of it, after all.
  10. Solidus

I've had no problems switching between suPHP and DSO before with 2 sites on the server.