Cannot reproduce Intermittent htmlspecialchars errors

nero

Affected version
Hi there,

I'm new to Xenforo and I'm working on converting a phpBB-3.2 board to Xenforo-2.1.11.

I have intermittent errors happening about some unsupported charset error with htmlspecialchars(). Here's an example:

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'ErrorException' with message '[E_WARNING] htmlspecialchars(): charset `����' not supported, assuming utf-8' in /dev/website/www/src/XF/Error.php:448
Stack trace:
#0 [internal function]: XF::handlePhpError(2, 'htmlspecialchar...', '/dev/website...', 448, Array)
#1 /dev/website/www/src/XF/Error.php(448): htmlspecialchars('XF::handlePhpEr...')
#2 /dev/website/www/src/XF/Error.php(377): XF\Error->getExceptionTraceHtml(Object(ErrorException))
#3 /dev/website/www/src/XF/App.php(2207): XF\Error->displayFatalExceptionMessage(Object(ErrorException))
#4 /dev/website/www/src/XF.php(168): XF\App->displayFatalExceptionMessage(Object(ErrorException))
#5 [internal function]: XF::handleException(Object(ErrorException))
#6 {main}
thrown in /dev/website/www/src/XF/Error.php on line 448

It all started during the import. It stopped several times with a similar error (same error, only the charset is changing) and re-launching the importer worked until another error happened. Eventually I managed to finalize the import and now have a working board. All messages seem OK and I don't see any encoding issue when browsing the board. But from time to time, whether it's on the public side of the board or in the admin control panel, I have this error coming back. Reloading the page fixes the issue and the page displays correctly.
For instance, I just had the error in the admin control panel at the following page: /admin.php?tools/test-image-proxy

Is there something I did wrong and could you tell me how to fix this error?

I'm running PHP-5.6 and my php.ini has the default_charset set to UTF-8.

Thanks!