XF 2.1 [Extremely Newbie] Installing a theme to my XF forum

Draracle

Hi everyone,

I have little to no IT/computer experience and won't take any computer courses until high school, and have never owned a computer yet, so I apologize if I sound dumb. I have a forum up and live, the hosting is on siteground and the domain on godaddy.

I downloaded a free theme I really like, but the instructions are over my head. They are:

1. Upload the contents of the upload directory to the root of your XenForo installation.
  2. Go into your XenForo Admin Control Panel, click on Styles, and then click on "Import a Style" in the left-hand navigation list.
  3. Click on the upload file field, and then navigate to and select the style-argon.xml file.

Can someone explain as if they were speaking to a 5 yr old how to do this? I have no idea where the root of my XF installation is, or what that even means. Is that something I can find on siteground?

Thank you to whatever kind soul helps me. My XF version is whatever latest version for download is.

D

Since you got XenForo installed, I am assuming you have experience with the FTP, probably FileZilla or equivalent.

The root of your XenForo installation is usually the public_html directory where you see the following folders:
  • data
  • install
  • internal_data
  • js
  • library
  • src
  • styles
The styles folder is what you want. The style you download should contain an upload folder. Inside that folder is a styles folder. Drag that styles folder into the public_html folder.

There should also be xml file. Go to yourdomain.com/admin.php?styles/import and import the XML file.

Thank you Matt. Embarrassingly, someone else set the forum up for my classmates and I. Your explanation makes sense to me, I am clear on everything except where to find the public_html directory? Would I find that in my XenForo Admin panel? Or in the siteground account? I am not familiar with FTPs.