Complete beginner, what should I do about...

JamieF

Hi all, I'm hoping some of you knowledgeable folks will be able to answer a few of my (possibly stupid) questions, and point me in some good directions.

I'm looking to launch a new forum/community/website/mobile app for a specific demographic, and I'm trying to work out the best way forward with it. Here's the outline:

Users will subscribe monthly to get access to one or more 'networks' within the forum.
Each network will have set 'categories' (users will not be able to create new threads as such, but will be able to create new posts, reply, upload images, all that basic stuff.), and they will only see the categories they want to see (plus one default category that goes to everyone)

I plan to have it based primarily on a website, with subscription done there; but the mobile apps will be paramount, as I want push notifications to play a big part (hence the narrowing down of what networks and categories you hear from, to avoid swamping users).

My questions, if you would be so kind; are:

1. which forum software would i be best to use for the features I need?
2. how do they work as apps? do they need separate development or is the code designed so that it works in whatever format?
3. Can you download apps from within the forum website directly, rather than having to download something like tapatalk and then finding the forum?
4. I've built fairly basic websites in dreamweaver (www.ski-bliss.com) before, but have no real knowledge of coding/php etc etc, would I need to bring in a developer for the whole thing? or be able to build the site myself and bring them in to add the forum, or is it all easy enough to figure out solo?

Any help here would be massive, thanks.

I would say XenForo would do the job for everything... all until you mentioned mobile apps.