I don't have any custom permissions because its confusing as it is right now.
I want to make a specific FORUM be exclusive to a Staff Group, but when I edited the forum's privacy, I ended up messing up the permission for the entire fleet of usergroups. Cue the face palm. I like the vbulletin settings better.
I'm not looking forward to fixing all the permissions that didn't transfer correctly. I finally do understand the concept of the XenForo permissions system after much trial and error and studying...also thanks to Jake's thread. However, that doesn't really make it any better when I have to fix everything that messed up from the vBulletin transfer. It must be a real nightmare for people who have 20+ usergroups.
1. If I delete a usergroup do the members get put in a different user group or do I have to manually change everyone?
2. Lets say I delete Silver Supporters where do those 6 members go?
3. If I count up all my users it shows 1804 my board statistic show 1791 how can I fix that?
1. & 2. If the deleted user group only has 'additional users', and not primary users, then they simply loose that user groups special permissions. If the deleted usergroup has primary users, would you want to take the chance of where they go?
3. If you get the remaining 13 people to confirm their email registration (assuming you have that enabled) they will show up as valid users... or possibly they may be in the banned group, not sure about that.