vb4 to XenForo

Status
Not open for further replies.

JonUrban

I have a 15 year old vB4 Forum (quadraphonicquad) that I am seriously considering upgrading to XenForo. I have a few questions:

1) Since 2.x just came out, would I be better, or is it possible, to upgrade to 1.x first, then upgrade to 2.x?
2) How difficult is the conversion. I am not a web expert, I know just enough to keep the forum running.
3) The forum is hosted by URLJet and I checked with them and they do support XenForo
4) I have only heard good things about XenForo and not so good things with vB (I actually bought vB5 but never used it because of all of the bad reviews)

Can you fill me in on what I would need to do, and the best way to go about it? The forum is a small usage forum, the number of active members is less than 500, although there are probably 3000+ registered members. It was a vB3 forum and at one time did have the home page option, but that is no longer used.

Thanks in advance!

:-jon

You can do either - you can import directly into XF2, or import into XF1, then upgrade to XF2.

The importers are very straightforward and require no programming or specific knowledge.

Once you purchase a license, there is a dedicated import support forum where you can post for help and advice.

I have a 15 year old vB4 Forum (quadraphonicquad) that I am seriously considering upgrading to XenForo. I have a few questions:

1) Since 2.x just came out, would I be better, or is it possible, to upgrade to 1.x first, then upgrade to 2.x?
2) How difficult is the conversion. I am not a web expert, I know just enough to keep the forum running.
3) The forum is hosted by URLJet and I checked with them and they do support XenForo
4) I have only heard good things about XenForo and not so good things with vB (I actually bought vB5 but never used it because of all of the bad reviews)