XF 2.2 Unable to install XenForo plugin

nealr

Hello,

I am setting up a new system with XenForo, it's my first time using it, and I ran into troubles that are beyond my knowledge.

The system itself is Ubuntu server 20.04 on a VirtualBox VM with eight cores, sixteen gig of ram, 120GB of disk. The host has almost no other load on it.

I installed Apache, MySQL, PHP, configured the database, and installed Wordpress. I occasionally have to maintain Wordpress stuff for others, this part is familiar.

I downloaded the XenForo plugin, and it failed when attempting to upload. The system is behind Cloudflare and incoming requests pass through an nginx reverse proxy. I have another system that requires large upload limits, so I set nginx to pass up to 64 meg, and then modified php.ini to permit 64 meg, as well as increasing timeouts. This permitted the install to get to 40% before it failed.

The VM is running on an R&D machine in my house. Once it's complete, I'll upload it to its permanent home. I disabled the domain in nginx and added an entry for it in /etc/hosts, so I could access it directly. Removing those two layers did not permit an install.

I have never used wp-cli, but decided I'd give it a try:

cd /var/www/html
wp --allow-root plugin install xenforo_2.2.2_Internet-Hope-Machin_229123E74B_full.zip

The package could not be installed. "No valid plugins were found."

I tried unpacking it in the wp-content/plugins directory, same problem there.

This is what is actually in the zip file:

Any suggestions on what the next step would be??

That's the core XF files, not an add-on.

XF has nothing to do with WP - it must be installed in an empty directory, outside other software.

Installation instructions for XF are here: https://xenforo.com/docs/xf2/install-upgrade/
Welp, that would definitely be one reason why Wordpress won't take it.