Once someone is added in a conversation and opt out from it. The person is still shown in the conversation participants. It will be nice to show only active participants in the list. It causes confusion for active participants about who is listening to their voice?
It's for situations where someone is being spammed or harassed and wants to silently leave the conversation.
If they were shown as having left, the person harassing them would just start another conversation.