Staying sane? - 3rd week of stay-at-home order for us.

Joe Kuhn

Since I work as a programmer during the day and have been on my machine quite a bit at night, I really needed to do something different.

I went back to an old hobby of small engine repair. (I know, way off topic) Our mail lady asked if she could drop off a chain saw that her husband was not about to fix. I said sure. I left it in the garage for a couple of days and decided to look at it today.

Drained the gas out of it and the fuel filter fell out with the gas. Looked inside and saw the hose from the filter to the exit was disconnected too. Exit hose is black. Piece of hose to filter was laying in the bottom of the tank.

1586655622754.png

So how do you fix this, particularly because that exit fixture is on the other side of the tank? My needle nose pliers wouldn't reach it with a new piece of hose and I wasn't about to go to the hardware store (stay at home!) for a longer pliers, although I could really use one like this:

1586656209987.png

I took the old hose out with a strong pull from above and threaded a new one through with a wire. See concept below. You trim the hose on an angle, pull it through from the inside of the tank on out, and you'll just be able to get the tip of the hose with a pliers. Pull and you're done.

1586655819967.png

Connect all the pieces and it's fixed:

1586655918577.png

I get to see if it starts tomorrow.

Have also been watching Quantastic on YouTube. The creativity of these artists can be amazing. Makes me wonder if there are any XF forums for artists. Would like to visit.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

What have you been doing at home to stay sane?

Last edited:
Download the TikTok app and you'll be amused for hours just sitting there watching everyone do the same dance and all the 15 second funny videos.