I have experienced the same behaviour you describe as being worse with passkey login when not logging in with a passkey.
There’s no difference between these paths, no material difference in the kind of data that should be deleted in either of these paths on logout.
The ultimate issue is how browsers respond to the request to clear site data. Whatever storage mechanism the browsers use to determine which data to remove is fundamentally flawed and poorly optimised.
I can see us probably having to flip the config switch so that the default becomes the original behaviour and you have to opt in to the more secure behaviour. Or, even simpler, just opt out now with the config switch we’ve provided.
There’s no difference between these paths, no material difference in the kind of data that should be deleted in either of these paths on logout.
The ultimate issue is how browsers respond to the request to clear site data. Whatever storage mechanism the browsers use to determine which data to remove is fundamentally flawed and poorly optimised.
I can see us probably having to flip the config switch so that the default becomes the original behaviour and you have to opt in to the more secure behaviour. Or, even simpler, just opt out now with the config switch we’ve provided.