1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fixed Reverts delete items from edit history

Discussion in 'Resolved Bug Reports' started by AlexT, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. AlexT

    AlexT Well-Known Member

    It appears to be intentionally, yet it doesn't seem right that if I revert to a version in the edit history, all future versions within the history get deleted. It could make it impossible to follow the flow of edits, to see what led to a particular revert, which is sometimes not unimportant (imagine two disagreeing moderators editing one post...).

    Instead, a revert to a specific version should appear as a new edit on top of previous edits in the history. After all, it's just another edit to the post. This way the history stays intact, and it is how other systems, which heavily rely on versioning, do it. One example is Mediawiki.
     
    xf_phantom, rellek and James like this.
  2. Mike

    Mike XenForo Developer Staff Member

    Agreed, bad approach. Changed now.
     
    AlexT and xf_phantom like this.
  3. AlexT

    AlexT Well-Known Member

    Mike, you're a hero. (y)
     

Share This Page