1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moved My Community To A (Managed) VPS - Need Optimization Advise

Discussion in 'Server Configuration and Hosting' started by Divvens, Apr 16, 2015.

1. Divvens

Divvens Well-Known Member

Only yesterday we moved our community onto a VPS server as it had outgrown shared and premium (semi-shared?) hosting. This is my first time and its a managed server, so I don't need to worry about security and basic setup/configuration. But I would require some insight into how to better the performance and optimize it for my board. I know optimization is a lengthy process after reviewing data over time, thus I am not currently jumping straight into it and will let the forum be as-is until after our first wave of high traffic has passed to see where we need to optimize.

Please do note, that while giving suggestions or providing instructions be as specific as you can. I am new to this and would probably need the extra explanation until I get a hang of it.

To begin, my Forum Statistics:
    Discussions: 7,157
    Members: 3,075

We have 300~400 users online at any given time (users i.e including members, bots etc). During peak/high traffic time (three days every week, Thursday - Friday - Saturday) we have a minimum of 800~900 users online, with the highest being 1300. We average 9,000~10,000 visits a day with (currently) an average of 15/16gb bandwidth per day.

VPS Specifications:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2650 v2 1 Core @ 2.60GHz
    20 GB SSD Disk Space
    600 GB Bandwidth
    1 GB Dedicated Ram
    1 GB Burstable Ram (VSwap)
    LiteSpeed enabled

Currently only using the basic cache system mentioned in the XenForo Manual.

So I'd like to hear your suggestions for what I should watch out for/be ready during high traffic, what to monitor etc. in order to get reports for optimizing the server better :)

2. Divvens

Currently with 225 users online: