• This forum has been archived. New threads and replies may not be made. All add-ons/resources that are active should be migrated to the Resource Manager. See this thread for more information.

Manage your own Thread (without beeing admin)

Lu Kas

Hi guys, as i am not a coder, i have no idea if this is even possible.

I would like to see a mod that gives normal users the power to manage their own threads (in some special forums) like deleting/editing posts (from others), closing the thread or even moving it to its final destination.

do you think this is possible?

IMHO it would be possible.
You could check the forumid and overwrite the addInlineModOptionToPost method in XenForo_Model_Post if it's a "special forum":
PHP:
/**
	 * Adds the canInlineMod value to the provided post and returns the
	 * specific list of inline mod actions that are allowed on this post.
	 * @param array $post Post info
	 * @param array $thread Thread the post is in
	 * @param array $forum Forum the thread/post is in
	 * @param array|null $nodePermissions
	 * @param array|null $viewingUser
	 * @return array List of allowed inline mod actions, format: [action] => true
	 */
	public function addInlineModOptionToPost

I like this idea. If anyone is considering this, please PM me. I have an Addon I have been planning/thinking about that would be like but greatly expanded.

I think the model would be that a thread creator could apply to a Moderator or an Admin to have their thread granted "Original Poster Moderation Status".

Lu Kas, could you expand more on your ideas why this would be helpful ? What problems does it solve ? Any anticipated problems ?