• This forum has been archived. New threads and replies may not be made. All add-ons/resources that are active should be migrated to the Resource Manager. See this thread for more information.

Just wrote my first serious Addon for Xenforo

Sadik B

The thing is I am a very very lazy guy... and a very reluctant coder. I have an Engg degree in Comp Science but I have been working with business apps for so long I rarely get to code.

Now as I had posted in the showcase forum, I recently gave the General Forums niche a go... Ever since google indexed some pages and we had traffic, the Spammers started having a field day. It seems reCaptcha is absolutely useless. Spammers were registering left, right and center. I quickly switched to Q&A but still there were these manual spammers who would register, jump to members page, open all the profile pages and start posting links and email addresses to everyone and then the same with PC.

Members started complaining and one guy even threatened me lol... :D

I suggested a post based link checker to Ragtek and he has indeed made one, but currently it's checking only posts. Borbole has an excellent Mod which checks posts, threads, PC but not profile posts. Jaxel's Xenutils checks profile posts but only of the member's own profile pages. So apparently there was nothing that could meet my pressing need of stopping spam on member's profile page. Well so had no other option but take an evening out and write an addon myself... :(

Well, many thanks to Lawrence's Creating Addon tutorial which showed me where to start. I had created an addon earlier but that was for template inserts using hooks following the video by Kier (and pretty much done in half an hour).

My AntiSPAM addon is live on my site right now and no spam profileposts seen so far! :D Basically what it does is prevent a profile post if there's a link or email in it and the user does not have set number of posts.