1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I want a forum this fast

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by JamesBrown, Jun 19, 2012.

1. JamesBrown

JamesBrown Well-Known Member

Marcus and surfsup like this.
  2. 0xym0r0n

0xym0r0n Well-Known Member

O_O well it is pretty fast but from what I see there's very little use of images. I'm not an expert but by simply using a stylesheet and preloading everything else in another file, your site speed will be affected. I think visually I see only 2 images on the site (there may be more), so in a sense it doesn't have much to load other than the data from the databases. I can make a simple CMS that'd load a bunch of article titles that fast if I only had one image (and good server lol). Probably not a forum though v_v
  3. x3sphere

x3sphere Active Member

My site seems to load just as fast. So does XenForo.com. Both are at a disadvantage too because there's way more style elements and images being downloaded.
    0xym0r0n likes this.
  4. Hardcore

Hardcore Active Member

I have one already. It's called XenForo 1.1.3. ;)
  5. DBA

DBA Well-Known Member

Like 0xym0r0n said, keep your request/images/resources to a minimum. Along with setting up caching.

If you take a look at their site you'll see that they only have 8 requests. 5 of those are images.

My forumhome fully loaded has 18 requests, 11 being images.
  6. 0xym0r0n

Yeah I like all my gaudy images and my users do too. If they want simple they'll visit the mobile site :) Which would probably load this fast on any PC and browser lol

I have to set up my caching... Webpagetest tells me it's no bueno.
  7. The Dark Wizard

The Dark Wizard Well-Known Member

Setup a CDN for your images and proper caching.

Look at how fast my site is with all the stuff we use: http://www.rpdom.com
    surfsup likes this.
  8. 0xym0r0n