HawkeyeLounge.com - Suggestions welcome

Wild Onion

Been running this site for 7.5 years, and migrated to XF one year ago (from vB3). When I first built this site, I was a complete amateur (still am), and knew nothing about even the basics of building a website. I had to teach myself everything from the ground up, and I still have very limited skills when it comes to coding. I joke with my users that the site is held together with duct tape and baling wire, but it's probably true.

I have really enjoyed XF and after working through a significant loss of ad revenue for a few months, we have just put together our best couple of months yet.

The users on my forum are extremely loyal, and we have a core group of 100 or so that do the majority of the posting. Most are draw together as fans of the Iowa Hawkeyes, but there is also robust off-topic discussion, including quite a bit of politics. Being in Iowa, we are at ground zero for a lot of big political happenings, and we had a nice revenue bump during the 2014 U.S. Senate campaign.

For a long time, I've wanted a solid front page/portal, for two reasons: First, to give the site a more welcoming appearance for new visitors. Secondly, I would really like to build on the political site traffic, which I think is a huge untapped source of visitors.

One limitation I have is that my loyal group of users have said repeatedly that they do NOT want a dedicated political forum. They want those threads included with the rest of the off-topic threads (which is actually our main discussion forum). The only tool I have to segregate those threads is through a thread prefix.

I've used XenPorta (the old version), Widget Framework and CTA Featured Threads. Each has their limitations. I only want the front page to have the articles, and all comments go to the forum.