Fear of upgrading from vBulletin 3.8 to XenForo

Jon12345

I have a discussion forum with about 1.5M posts using vBulletin 3.8. I've been running it for nearly 20 years now and have thought about the possibility of upgrading the software.

My fears are this:
  • Could it hammer my rankings? <= The biggest concern.
  • Will I lose attachments?
  • How does Google view different forum software?
  • How long does the switching process take?
  • Are the forum post urls identical?
  • Can you create a test site first before you nuke the vBulletin site? i..e so you can confirm all posts look good and work.
I am interested to hear before and after examples to give me an idea of what to expect. Especially helpful would be what happened to traffic after upgrading from your old vbulletin to XenForo board, especially from those who already get a decent amount of traffic.

Thanks!

Jon

Slavik

XenForo moderator
Staff member
  • Could it hammer my rankings? <= The biggest concern.
As long as you set up the redirects correctly, then most sites find google prefers how XenForo presents its data.

• Will I lose attachments?
Nope

• How does Google view different forum software?
XenForo has a lot of SEO tweaks that older vbulletin versions didnt.

• How long does the switching process take?
On a forum of your size, depending on how many attachments, and the server specs, id estimate no more than a few hours.

• Are the forum post urls identical?
No, but the ID's can be maintained 1to1.

• Can you create a test site first before you nuke the vBulletin site? i..e so you can confirm all posts look good and work.
Yes.

klaush

We just did that with Jon (Slavik) from a 14 years old vbulletin 3.8x to XF 2.1! And he did a great job! We have 3 Million posts, 300.000 threads and 125.000 members.

Greetings
Klaus

Last edited:

Jon12345

Hey klaush, thanks for chipping in. Did it take long? Have you noticed any difference in traffic? How long ago was that? How much did it cost? PM if needed!