Don't send Discouraged users email by default

ActorMike

Well-known member
Can someone explain the logic behind sending discouraged users messages by default? Maybe I'm missing something here. Also, seems like a bad idea if you keep sending someone emails after you've already prevented them from using the site. If you don't want them on the site, why would you keep messaging them? Also, imagine explaining this in court. You effectively ban someone from the site, but continue contacting them.

I understand that it can manually be unchecked, but brain farts happen and they happen more often as you get older from my experience. :)

Also, does the discouragement prevent them from unsubscribing? I know part of the way that works is to give error messages on the site, again this could be a problem with complying with spam laws.

discouraged.jpg
 
Upvote 2
Top