• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

XF 1.4 delete account - didn't delete user threads/posts

#1
I deleted UserX account but I still can see UserX posts in the forums. I expected the system to remove those posts but that's not the case. Those post now show with UserX name as a 'guest'. How do I find and remove all of these posts?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#3
There is text which tells you the content won't be deleted:
upload_2015-4-24_20-16-39.png

It's not possible to delete the content after you have deleted the member, you should delete the content first.
 
#4
Looks like the WILL NOT wasn't clear enough. LOL. Too bad there is no way to do that after you delete the user. Would be a good feature to have.

In the future, what's the best way to delete the content first?
 

Brogan

XenForo moderator
Staff member
#5
Batch Update Threads will delete all threads.

The Spam Cleaner will delete all content (although it's not strictly designed for that).
 

Harpers Tate

Well-known member
#6
My recommendation here would be to never actually delete accounts.
Instead, depersonalise them (change username, remove data) as necessary, and ban them.
It then leaves them in place as a key to find and/or manage content. And as a point of reference in case the deleted account re-appears