A couple of development questions coming from vB to Xenforo.

rainmotorsports

I probably won't start any serious attempts at development for a few weeks as first thing first I am porting our theme over. But reading through some of the tutorials and conversations I have some questions and am mainly looking to be pointed in the right direction so I can learn on my own.

Figure I should give you guys an idea of my level of experience. My background in programming is more windows development as I have been coding in object oriented pascal for 15 years. I have basic skills in PHP and do well as long as no one separates me from my desk references. I am fluent in html and css techniques and have no problem with building my output. But the core concern is of course working with the platform. I wrote some basic stuff for vBulletin like pulling information displaying it in a new profile tab etc. I think that experience will barely provide any help from what I have seen so far.

DataWriter
I have seen this mentioned but do not have an understanding of when a Xenforo DataWriter is used, should be extended or when its safe to write to the database directly. I assume that say a plugin that makes a forum post or changes a usergroup should make use of these DataWriters? We will be doing some things like that such as applications and ban appeals will be posting to the forum as a thread. But most other plugins will be writing to tables specific to the plugin and not an existing part of the forum is that a case when I would just do things like how I did before?

Listeners